The Printing Museum is still in recovery mode from a fire in May 2016. Our galleries remain closed. No tours or workshops will be scheduled until further notice. 2017 outreach opportunities with partnering institutions are currently being planned. Please check for updates on our website, Facebook page, and e-newsletter.  Thank you for your patience and support during this challenging time.

Our gift shop & Administrative offices are open 10am – 5pm, Monday thru Friday.

Donate to Support our Recovery Efforts

The Museum of Printing History was founded in 1979 by Raoul Beasley, Vernon P. Hearn, Don Piercy, and J. V. Burnham, four printers with passions for preserving their vast collections and sharing them with the community. The Museum was chartered in 1981 and had its official opening in 1982 with Dr. Hans Halaby, Director of the Gutenberg Museum in Mainz, Germany, cutting the ribbon. In 2012, the Museum rebranded as The Printing Museum.

The mission of the Museum is to promote, preserve, and share the knowledge of printed communication and art as the greatest contributors to the development of the civilized world and the continuing advancement of freedom and literacy.

Featured in the July 2006 issue of Texas Highways, the Museum was described as “a honeycomb of intimate gallery spaces…with a stunning collection of objects and artifacts devoted to the history, science, and art of printing.” The portrait of the Museum concludes with the observation that “printed text may be taken for granted these days, but a visit to the [The Printing Museum] somehow makes it seem magical once again.”


The Printing Museum wishes to thank the following foundations, corporations and individuals for their generous support:

  • The Brown Foundation, Inc.
  • Harry S. and Isabel C. Cameron Foundation
  • Penny Cerling and Jeff Skarda
  • Chevron Foundation
  • City of Houston, through a grant from the Houston Arts Alliance
  • Clampitt Paper
  • Copy.Com
  • ExxonMobil Foundation
  • George and Mary Josephine Hamman Foundation
  • The Hearst Foundation, Inc.
  • Albert and Ethel Herzstein Charitable Foundation
  • The Houston Chronicle
  • Houston Endowment
  • Humanities Texas
  • InfoVine
  • Michele and Paul Isherwood
  • Kinder Morgan Foundation
  • Mid-America Arts Alliance
  • Arish Rustomji
  • Shell Oil Company
  • The Wortham Foundation, Inc.

Board of Directors

Chair: Brian Hodge , Musiqa
Immediate Past Chair: A. John Harper III , Littler Mendelson P.C.
Chair Emeritus: Thomas B. Eaton, Jr. , Eaton Manufacturing
1st Vice-Chair: A. John Harper III , Littler Mendelson P.C.
2nd Vice-Chair: Thomas Hull , Rigsby Hull
Secretary: John Earles , Workhorse Printmakers
Treasurer: Ian E. McCutcheon, M.D. , MD Anderson Cancer Center
Fred Armstrong , Martha Turner Sotheby's International Realty
Amber Elliott , Houston Chronicle
Charles Eskridge , Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan, LLP
Angel Jimenez , Community Volunteer
Wea Lee , Southern Newspaper Group
April Lykos , Shop the Symphony
Jerry J. Waite, Ed.D. , University of Houston

Advisory Directors

William C. Blackwood , Community Volunteer
Karen Burke , Texas Monthly Magazine; Junior League of Houston Outside Board Representative
Shannon Chapin , The Houston Chronicle
Martha Justice , Community Volunteer
Anita Kiperman , Lecturer Emeritus, Rice University
Gene McDavid , The Houston Chronicle
Frank Romano , Rochester Institute of Technology, Professor Emeritus
Richard O. Wilson , Engineer
Margrit Young-Zellweger , Honorary Consul, Consulate of Switzerland